Congratulations to all the winners and finalists in the 2008 ascilite awards!

ascilite Paper Award Winners:

Usability and usefulness of eBooks on PPCs: How students' opinions vary over time, Paul Lam, Shun Leung Lam, John Lam, Carmel McNaught

Peer review of online learning and teaching: New technologies, new challenges, Denise Wood, Martin Friedel

A peer review model for the ALTC Exchange: The landscape of shared learning and teaching resources, Robyn Philip, Geraldine Lefoe, Dominique Parrish, Meg O'Reilly

Breaking down online teaching: Innovation and resistance, John Hannon

Learning fire investigation the clean way: The virtual experience, Amanda Davies, Barney Dalgarno

ascilite Poster Winner:

Scenario + Rapid e-learning = Powerful learning, Tristram Lawson

Winner of the Blackboard Research Grant for 2008:
Mr Matthew Campbell
Lecturer (Professional and Educational Studies), School of Education (NSW), Australian Catholic University Project Title: Using virtual world technologies to improve the professional decision-making capacities of pre-graduate teachers.

President’s award for excellence was won by:
Academic Integrity - Online Tutorial; School of Geography, Planning and Architecture and Teaching and Educational Development Institute University of Queensland

Ascilites were awarded to:

  • Academic Integrity - Online Tutorial; School of Geography, Planning and Architecture and Teaching and Educational Development Institute University of Queensland
  • Habitat Change in Moreton Bay; Centre for Marine Studies and Teaching and Educational Development Institute University of Queensland
  • Managing Project Work with eUreka; Centre for Educational Development Nanyang Technological University Singapore

The annual ascilite awards, comprising 'ascilites' and the President's Award, are designed to reward leaders in the use of electronic technologies in teaching and learning in tertiary education. Each year at the ascilite conference these awards recognize exemplary product design and development in the application of ICT in Higher Education.

All entries are judged on their merits in terms of the above over-arching goal and the following criteria:

  • Appropriateness for the target audience.
  • Appropriateness and effectiveness of the design from a learning-technology perspective. For example, interface design, navigation, usability, exploitation of the affordances offered by various media.
  • 'Fit of the project' to its specified technical and pedagogical goals.
  • Creativity/innovation in its application of technology/pedagogical approach.
  • Appropriateness and effectiveness of the learning design.
  • Impact on teaching practice. Likelihood and ease of adoption by or transference to other practitioners/teaching and learning environments.
  • Substantive evidence of educational effectiveness (evaluation).
  • Overall quality.

As in past years the standard of entries was very high. This year, three projects were passed on to the international judging panel as finalists.

The international panel for 2008 comprised:

Judge Affiliation
Dr Bob Corderoy (Chair) Australasian College of Dermatologists (AUST)
Associate Professor Helen Carter University of Canberra (AUST)
Mr Ray Stace University of Wollongong (AUST)
Professor Frank Rennie Lews Castle College (SCOT)
Dr Diane Salter Hong Kong Polytechnic (HK)
Professor Robin Mason The Open University (UK)
Dr Elaine Pearson University of Teeside (UK)
Professor Thomas Reeves The University of Georgia (USA)
Dr Meg O'Reilly Southern Cross University (AUST)
Professor John O'Donoghue University of Central Lancashire (UK)
Professor Gilly Salmon University of Leicester (UK)
Mr Alan Soong Nanyang Technological University (SG)

'ascilites' are awarded to those projects which the judging panel nominates as worthy, based on the 'scores' they achieve for each of the criteria. The citation which appears on the 'ascilite' award certificate reflects the list of criteria which the judging panel flagged as commendable scores.

Please use the links below to see further details on each of the projects which made it to the 'finalist' stage and the various awards given to the successful projects.

Large project
eUreka (Nanyang Technological University - Singapore)
Contact: A.Prof Daniel Tan (

Small project
Habitat Change in Morton Bay (University of Queensland)
Contact: Wendy Chalmers (

Online Tutorial: Academic Integrity (University of Queensland)
Contact: Wendy Chalmers (